Automated user deletion
This documents how automated user deletion occurs within Zendesk.
Zendesk Global
- Deployment type:
Ad-hoc - Project: User deletion
Every day at 0045 UTC, all end-users meeting the following criteria are deleted from the Zendesk instance via the bin/delete script:
- Their role is
end-user - They are not associated with an organization
- They are not suspended (suspended users require manual review before deletion)
- They were created more than 3 years ago (per data retention policies)
Zendesk US Government
- Deployment type:
Ad-hoc - Project: User deletion
Every day at 0045 Pacific, all end-users meeting the following criteria are deleted from the Zendesk instance via the bin/delete script:
- Their role is
end-user - The value of their attribute
not_in_sfdcistrue(i.e. the checkbox is checked) - They are not suspended (suspended users require manual review before deletion)
Compliance level deletions
- Deployment type:
Ad-hoc - Projects:
After users are deleted from Zendesk (via automated deletion or manual deletion), they remain in a “deleted” state for a period. Compliance-level deletion permanently purges these deleted users from Zendesk’s systems entirely to meet data retention compliance requirements.
Twice a day (at 0045 and 1245 UTC), the bin/purge_deleted_users script of both projects runs to remove the first 700 deleted users (Zendesk API limit) from the Zendesk instance.
6640311f)
