The next generation of virtual reality headsets remains unclear, but the VR software ecosystem just firmed up an unsurprising—and potentially unwelcome—requirement for a huge swath of users.
Starting “this October,” anyone brand-new to the Oculus VR ecosystem will be forced to log in to devices using a Facebook account, instead of creating and logging into a separate Oculus-specific account. If you already have an Oculus account (which is free and doesn’t require an Oculus-branded headset), you can continue using those credentials for existing headsets until January 1, 2023, at which point all connected Oculus services will not function without a Facebook account.
[Update, 4:40pm EDT: After this article’s publication, a Facebook representative clarified to Ars Technica that this restriction is even more severe than we previously understood. “All future unreleased Oculus devices will require a Facebook account, even if you already have an Oculus account,” the representative wrote.]
“Your use of VR and other Facebook products”
Though Oculus’s official announcement begins by trumpeting how this change will improve the Oculus VR experience, it concludes with the exact kind of information-sharing and tracker-heavy deluge that many Facebook critics fear:
When you log into Oculus using your Facebook account, Facebook will use information related to your use of VR and other Facebook products to provide and improve your experience. This information is also used to show you personalized content, including ads. For example, we might show you recommendations for Oculus Events you might like, ads about Facebook apps and technologies, or ads from developers for their VR apps.
Since its massive, Kickstarter-backed launch, Oculus has maintained its own login system so that users can manage digital licenses, friend lists, and other VR-specific content. But Facebook, who acquired Oculus in 2014, eventually asked VR users to connect their Facebook credentials to their accounts. While that process has been routinely described as wholly optional, Oculus has begun gating certain content—particularly “social” sharing features like gameplay videos—to connected FB credentials.


Loading comments...